Commonwealth Scholarship commission in United Kingdom has announced the scholarships for the master level programs in the fields of economic, social and technology. These scholarship are offered to the students of developing countries by the participating institutes and universities of UK. The aim of these scholarship is to benefit the bright needy students from the postgraduate studies and participate in the development of their home countries. Awards made under this scheme are jointly funded by the Department for International Development (DFID), as part of the UK international development programme to developing countries, and participating institutions in the UK. The scheme is administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC), whose secretariat is provided by The Association of Commonwealth Universities, Woburn House, 20-24 Tavistock Square, London, WC1H 9HF, UK. For 2013 62 universities have offered to support the scholarships by contributing the stipend for the students from their own resources, or those which the university has been able to generate from elsewhere.

Level of Study:
Awards are for taught Master’s courses only. No awards will be made for undergraduate or doctoral study.

Subjects must be related to the economic, social and technological development of the student’s home country; For the full list of courses see the prospectus (link given below).

The deadline are in year 2013. Different universities has different closing date of application, the deadline of the all the universities are given in the prospectus(link given below).Candidates should note that they should ask the institutions to forward their nominations to the CSC no later than 30 April 2013.

Duration of awards:
Awards are normally tenable for one-year taught postgraduate courses only.

List of Eligible Countries:
The list of developing countries whose students are eligible to apply for this UK Commonwealth Share scholarship is:

Anguilla, Nauru, Antigua and Barbuda, Nigeria, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Barbados, Papua New Guineas, Belize, Pitcairn, Bermuda, Rwanda, Botswana, St Helena, British Virgin Islands, St Kitts and Nevis, Cameroon, St Lucia, Dominica, St Vincent, Falkland Islands, Seychelles, Fiji*, Sierra Leone, Gambia, Solomon Islands, Ghana, South Africa, Grenada, Sri Lanka, Guyana, Swaziland, India, Tanzania, Jamaica, Tonga, Kenya, Trinidad and Tobago, Kiribati, Tristan da Cunha, Lesotho, Turks and Caicos, Malawi, Tuvalu, Malaysia, Uganda, Maldives, Vanuatu, Mauritius, Western Samoa, Montserrat, Zambia, Mozambique, Zimbabwe* and Namibia.

* Awards offered to build the capacity of civil society organizations.

Application and selection:
Although institutions will normally recruit direct, the availability of these awards will be advertised through British High Commissions if the institutions have indicated their wish to avail themselves of this service.

Applications should be made directly to the institutions at which candidates wish to study. The sponsoring institutions will be the judges of academic calibre and will forward their nominations to the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission for its agreement. Institutions will normally advise candidates of the result not later than July.

Candidates should note that although they may apply to more than one institution, only one offer of award may be accepted.


For more information about the scholarship visit :

Web link: